Board of Governors

ICIMOD is governed by a Board of Governors consisting of one representative from each of the eight regional member countries (RMCs) and independent members who are nominated by the ICIMOD Support Group based on their recognized professional expertise and experience. The ICIMOD Support Group is composed of representatives from all the organizations and institutions that provide financial contributions to the Centre, including the regional member countries.

Regional Board Members (as of April 2018)

  • Dasho Rinzin Dorji
    (Chairperson, ICIMOD Board of Governors)
    Ministry of Agriculture and Forests 
    Royal Government of Bhutan
  • Mr Mohammad Rafi Qazizada
    Director General
    Natural Resource Management 
    Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Livestock 
    Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
  • Mr Md Nurul Amin
    Ministry of Chittagong Hill Tracts Affairs 
    Bangladesh Secretariat, Dhaka 
    Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh
  • Prof Ding Zhongli
    Vice President, CAS  
    Chairman of CN-ICIMOD 
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
    People's Republic of China
  • Mr Chandra Kishore Mishra 
    Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change 
    Government of India
  • Dr Nyi Nyi Kyaw
    Director General
    Forest Department 
    Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation 
    Union of Myanmar
  • Dr. Puspa Kadel 
    National Planning Commission 
    Government of Nepal
  • Mr Fazal Abbas Mekan
    Ministry of National Food Security and Research 
    Government of Pakistan

        Independent Board Members (as of April 2018)

            • Dr Margaret Catley-Carlson 
              (Chairperson, PAC and Vice Chairperson, ICIMOD Board of Governors)
              Vice Chair Canadian Water Network
              Boards of the IFPRI, Syngenta Foundation and the IFDC
              Jurist-Tyler Environmental Achievement and Stockholm Water Prizes
              Former President of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
              Former Deputy Executive Director, UNICEF
            • Dr Thomas Labahn
              GIZ Country Director, Mongolia
              Former GIZ Country Director (Nepal and Ethopia)
            • Dr Yanfen Wang
              Vice President, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS)
            • Lyonpo Dr Kinzang Dorji
              Former Prime Minster, Bhutan
              President, Bhutan indigenous Games and Sports Association (BIGSA)
            • Prof Hans Hurni
              Prof. Emeritus, Senior Scientist
              Centre for Development and Environment (CDE), University of Bern
              Former Director, National Centre of Competence in Research (NCCR) North-South
            • Dr Asuncion Lera St. Clair
              Senior Principal Scientist, Climate Change 
              Strategic Research and Innovation
              DNV GL – Group Technology and Research
            • Dr Teresa Christina Fogelberg
              Deputy Chief Executive, Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
            • Dr David James Molden
              Director General
              Ex officio

        ICIMOD Support Group (as of April 2018)